Cornwall Farmers unveils board


Cornwall Farmers (CF) has unveiled its new eight-strong board having announced earlier this year that it was recruiting new directors to drive the business forward.

Cornwall Farmers chairman Dr Geoffrey Vernon

The £70 million co-operative, which has been supplying the agricultural community for the last 90 years and is owned by its 4,200 members, voted at its annual general meeting in March to diversify its board structure following a review.

The new board formally took up duties on September 30 under new chairman Dr Geoffrey Vernon. Dr Vernon has been a board director of CF since 2007 and succeeds Peter Thomas who has stepped down after three years in the role.

He said: “These new appointments strengthen the breadth and depth of experience, skills and commercial acumen available to Cornwall Farmers. They reinforce our fierce commitment to remain independent as we focus on driving the business forward.

“The quality of candidates was so impressive that we have decided to appoint four new member directors rather than the two originally planned. I’m confident that their decades of business experience will bring increased drive and focus to the co-operative and I am delighted to welcome such an outstanding team.”

Cornwall Farmers’ new board includes two executive directors, four member directors and one professional independent director. The executive director posts are held by chief executive Simon Birch and director of finance Andrew Knott.

The four new member directors are Jeremy Oatey, Ian Tremain, Rex Ward and Charles Williams, and the professional independent director is Jules Hydelman.



Comments are closed.