One of Cornwall’s leading figures in the world of education has been shortlisted for a prestigious, national award.

Professor Anne Carlisle, vice-chancellor and chief executive of Falmouth University, is among the finalists in the 34th annual Businesswoman of the Year Award.

The award programme – which also includes a Woman of Achievement Award – is one of the longest established in Britain and the largest event of its kind to take place outside London.

It exists to highlight and celebrate women’s successes in business and society, promoting role models and inspiring women to reach their potential.

Professor Carlisle is only the second finalist from Cornwall in the 33-year history of the awards after Terrye Teverson, who run KCS Trade Print in Launceston, was shortlisted in 2015.

This year’s ceremony will take place this Friday (Oct 7) at the Birmingham Hilton Metropole Hotel at the NEC and Professor Carlisle will be up against five other businesswomen from across the country to lift the title.

Previous winners include Baroness Karren Brady CBE and Hilary Devey CBE.

Awards chair, Judy Groves, said: “The nominations we have received this year have been incredible and highlight the fantastic work women are undertaking in industry the length and breadth of the country.

“Our final shortlist includes women from a range of business backgrounds, from retail to IT and education, and representing all areas of the country including the Midlands, London, East Anglia, Manchester, the south west and Northern Ireland.

“Whoever wins will know they have truly come up against some outstanding finalists, all of whom should act as an inspiration to other women looking to forge a career in an industry or business sector of their choosing.”

Professor Carlisle said: “I’m delighted to be representing Cornwall through these awards. I hope my nomination reflects the hard work and dedication of women across the county who are playing a role in driving the regeneration of Cornwall’s economy.”

Professor Carlisle was appointed as vice-chancellor and chief executive of Falmouth University in 2009.

During her time she has helped to take Falmouth from an art school to a creative innovation hub which is focused on developing a high growth digital sector for the benefit of Cornwall. The growth in the institution over those seven years now sees it contributing £60 million per year to the Cornish economy.

Other finalists include Jacqueline O’Donovan (O’Donovan Waste Disposal), Rivka Rose (Faith in Nature), Carla Tully (AES UK & Ireland) and Katherine Bennett (Airbus).