CMP names four new board directors


Cornwall Museums Partnership (CMP) has appointed four new board directors.

As members of the CMP board, Katharine Wills, Heather Coupland, Zoe Partington and Sarah Waite will be responsible for ensuring the charity’s overall strategic direction.

Appointments were made after an open recruitment process seeking candidates from diverse backgrounds who share CMP’s values of collaboration, innovation and inclusion.

Sarah Trethowan, chair of the HR committee and vice chair of the board, said: “As CMP approaches the end of its sixth year, we are having to say goodbye to a number of trustees who have been with us since the start.

“This is a big milestone for any organisation and so we were delighted with the number and quality of applications we received. Whilst this made the process extremely challenging for the panel it was great to see how many people wanted to be part of our ambition to create positive social change with museums.”

Katherine Wills joins the CMP board as a Plymouth University Professor in Smart Cities and Communities in the School of Art, Design and Architecture. She is also co-chairs the School of Art, Design and Architecture Ethics, Diversity and Inclusion Committee (EDIC) and the Faculty of Arts and Humanities Ethics and Integrity Committee.

Heather Coupland is a management accountant and programme manager for Access to Finance and has worked as a business coach and finance specialist with businesses throughout Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly.

Zoe Partington is a creative consultant and international advisor for the cultural sector, is also a a contemporary visual artist.

Sarah Waite has recently taken a position as assistant curator at the Military Intelligence Museum, after finishing a ten-month trainee curator programme position at Bodmin Keep Museum; a CMP programme funded by the John Ellerman Foundation and Cultivator.