UCP awards shortlist


Unlocking Cornish Potential (UCP) has unveiled the thirty one talented graduates who have been shortlisted for nine separate awards at its bi-annual Celebration Event.

The 2012 UCP trophy designed by UCF student David Forsyth

Held at The Keay Theatre in St Austell this Friday (February 17), the awards will also recognise the achievements of 160 graduates who have completed a UCP project with a Cornish business in the past eight months.

CEO and principal of Cornwall College, Dave Linnell, commented: “I have been to previous UCP celebrations and what has been obvious in those celebrations is the value placed on the programme by the UCP graduates and by businesses in Cornwall.

“UCP has been one of the outstanding schemes funded by the European programme and has had a marked and long-term benefit on the Cornish economy.”

Best Marketing Strategy:

  • Julie Burns, Down By the Sea, Wadebridge
  • Ryan Sedgwick, Grosvenor Pumps Ltd, Camborne
  • Amy Smith, Francis Clarke with Winter Rule, Truro.

Contribution to Business Growth:

  • Adam Longfield, Natural Generation Ltd, St Agnes
  • Ben Nurse, Summit Computer Recruitment Consultancy, Launceston
  • Claire Ray, Unique Home Stays, Newquay

Excellence in Project Management:

  • Natalie Blachford, DCA Public Relations, Bodmin
  • Shilpa Jain, TRAC Services, Pool
  • Becky Lush, Event Cornwall, Truro
  • Amy Thornton, Reflex Marine, Truro

 Contribution to Business Improvement:

  • Julian Faulkner, Pendennis Worldclass Superyachts, Falmouth
  • Alison Sharkey, St Ives School of Painting, St Ives;
  • Elizabeth Williams, Tremough Innovation Centre, Falmouth

 Best Use of ICT:

  • Stuart Backhouse, Seasalt, Falmouth
  • Mike Flynn, Research Instruments, Falmouth
  • Lynsey Peacock, Woof Wear, Bodmin
  • Stephanie Powell, Aspects Holidays, Hayle

 Contribution to Environmental Sustainability:

  • Miles Davey, Summit Sustainable, Launceston
  • Simon Platten, Tamar Grow Local, Calstock
  • Kitty Jenkin, Cool Earth, Pool
  • Debbie Mason, Laurence Associates, Truro

Contribution to the Knowledge Economy through Innovation:

  • Jane Arthur, Impact Fluid Solutions, St Agnes
  • Isaac Bullen, 3WhiteHats, Pool
  • Matthew Lewis, Mining Searches UK, Redruth
  • Andy McKenzie, Low carbon Futures, Camborne

Catalyst to Business Growth:

  • Rhys Bonney, Business Cornwall magazine, Camborne
  • Julia Kerrison, Incandescence Productions, St Just
  • Melodie Manners, Boutique Retreats, St Agnes

 Individual Achievement Award:

  • Cassie Lawrence, Research Instruments, Falmouth
  • Matt Machin, Spiezia Organics, St Martin
  • Ross Sibley, MPG Books Group, Bodmin

Van rental made easy