Backing sustainability

Award sponsore: Back row (L-R) Emma Yates, Oxford Innovation; Haydn Scholes, Wardell Armstrong International; Sally Sandford, Business Link; Pat Hudson, NISP; James Shepherd, Groundwork Trust; Steve Clark, Environment Agency; Kerrina Peschkes, Environmental Skills Network. Front (L-R) Anthony Weight, Cornwall Council; Robin Freight, St Austell Brewery

The sponsors for the 2010 Cornwall Sustainability Awards have been unveiled.

Now in its eighth year the awards recognise environmentally friendly and sustainable businesses from across Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly.

Supporting them this year are the Manufacturing Advisory Service in the South West (MAS-SW), Combined Universities in Cornwall (CUC), St Austell Brewery, Environmental Skills Network, Oxford Innovation, Groundwork Trust, Wardell Armstrong International, European Social Fund Construction Sector Group, Business Link and the Environment Agency.

Companies will be able to compete in six categories including Best Managed Company, Low Carbon Business, Resource Management, Products and Services, Best Individual and for the first time, Sustainable Construction.

Roger Grimshaw from Oxford Innovation, which has sponsored the awards for the first time this year, said: “We’re very pleased to be supporting the Cornwall Sustainability Awards this year.

“As a company our remit is to support high growth business in Cornwall to help boost the prosperity of the county. The green sector is an area where Cornwall has the opportunity to grow and develop.

“It’s inspiring to see so many companies looking to improve sustainability.”

The closing date for entries is Friday, September 24. Businesses can enter by visiting the awards website where all criteria and entry forms can be downloaded.

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony taking place on Friday, December 3 at the Pavilion Centre, Royal Cornwall Showground.