Farm Business Awards shortlist


The shortlist has been announced for the Cornwall Farm Business Awards 2014, which takes place at the Royal Cornwall Showground this week.

Sponsors Coodes Solicitors and award organisers the Addington Fund have released the shortlist, with winners to be announced in a ceremony at the Pavilion Centre on Thursday, February 27.

Pam Johns, agricultural specialist at Coodes Solicitors, said: “The south west’s farmers have been struggling through horrendous weather conditions, as we’ve seen throughout the media.

“These awards are a timely celebration of how crucial agriculture is to our county and region, and recognise their hard work and resilience through challenging times.”

Ian Bell, fund director at Addington Fund, added: “The shortlist reflects how strong and diverse our farming industry is in Cornwall. Many congratulations to those who have been selected and we’re all looking forward to celebrating their successes on the awards night.”

Awards for Best Farmer and Farming Champion, sponsored by NFU Mutual, will be announced on the night.


Best Dairy Farmer sponsored by Rodda’s

  • Andrew and Sally Kellow, Trevglos Farm, St Mabyn
  • Mark and Lynn Button, Polshea Farm, St Tudy
  • Chris, Jacky and Thomas Jones, Trelay, Davidstow
  • Neville Morrow, Treveale Farm, Ladock

Best Commercial Farm sponsored by Hodgson’s

  • James Walkers, Rosecarnick Farm, Three Burrows
  • Jonathan Cole, Trebartha Farm, North Hill
  • David Jenkin, Little Trevease, Constantine

Best Farm Diversification sponsored by Chesterton Humberts & AMC

  • Ian Hidge, Burlawn, Wadebridge
  • James Mutton, Burlerrow Farm, St Mabyn
  • Colin Dyer, Kingswood Farm, Cardinham

Best Young Farmer sponsored by Francis Clark

  • Nathan Prior, Treweege Barton Farm, Stithians
  • Richard Martin, St Mabyn
  • Peter Olds, Bartinney, Kehelland

For more information about the Cornwall Farm Business Awards, click here.